RSS

Establishing Your Direction

09 Sep

The principles I’ve covered over the course of my posts is intended to help establishing your own personal direction. It’s to help answer the question Where am I going and Who do I want to be? They’re the tools that I use everyday to help me be the person I want to be today so that I can become who I want to be. I write things down that I want in my life and I spend time visualizing it. I include as many details as possible. I especially focus on what I am moving towards,not away from something.

I have been blessed with my life with my family, friends, and opportunities. I have read many books and stories about great struggles in people’s’ lives and I am fortunate to say that I have never had to experience some of the things others have endured. When given the option, people avoid pain and seek pleasure. This behavior causes people to run from their problems to solve them rather than to face the truth to begin moving toward something better. By continually avoiding the negative things in your life, you’re subconsciously giving them power to lead and direct you in a way that is not your choosing.

Jon Kabat-Zinn said “Wherever you go, there you are.” No matter how far you go to get away from the issues you’re running from, they will follow you. This is because they are not external forces that influence you, but internal ones. We misperceive the direction that we are going because it’s not our authentic selves providing it. Instead, we need to acknowledge the truth about what we’re running from in order to establish our direction of where we’re going from here. Plant a stake in the ground, and know where you want to go. Imagine the difference between Neil Armstrong running from Earth rather than going toward the moon.

The first step is doing what I do: write them down. Giving purpose to what you want and where you want to go gives your authentic self the power and the passion to make it happen. By moving toward something of value, we strive for continuous self-improvement; but when we run, we do just enough to avoid the pain and plateau. Keep this list next to your accomplishments to remind yourself that you have successfully moved toward things of value before.

What pains have you avoided? Are they still dictating your direction? Let me hear from you! Leave a comment below and follow me on Twitter @alexdbarba!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
